Signers of the Appeal

Signed by:

Ariel Dorfman

author, Death and the Maiden

Jody Williams

Nobel Peace Prize 1997 for her work to ban landmines

Gloria Steinem

writer, feminist activist

Kia Corthron

Playwright, novelist

Naomi Wallace

MacArthur Fellow, Obie award winner for playwriting

Jean Ziegler

sociologist, writer

Erica Deuber Ziegler

art historian

13 former Iranian political prisoners or exiles

See detailed list

Mariam Claren

daughter of political prisoner Nahid Taghavi

Dr. Kylie Moore-Gilbert

British-Australian academic, former political prisoner in Iran

Elika Ashoori

daughter of political prisoner Anoosheh Ashoori

Satar Rahmani

spokesperson, International Alliance in Support of Workers in Iran, campaigning for Iran’s political prisoners

Mehri Jafari

UK Solicitor and advocate for Iranian-British dual citizen, political prisoner Mehran Raoof

Carol Downer

pathbreaking advocate for women's reproductive rights, and co-initiator of this Campaign

Kave Milani

spokesman, Burn The Cage

More signers include:

Father Bob Bossie

Priests of the Sacred Heart

Rev. Dr. Robert L. Brashear

Pastor Emeritus West Park Church, NYC

Carol Gay

President, New Jersey Industrial Union Council

Jill Godmilow

filmmaker, Emeritus Professor, University of Notre Dame, IN

Dr. Warren Gold

MD, cardiopulmonologist, Emeritus professor, UC San Francisco

Kitt Kittredge

Steering Committee Women’s Boat to Gaza

Raymond Lotta

Revolution Books NYC

Shekib Mosadeq

revolutionary Afghan artist, activist

Nicholas Mottern


Father Claude Mostowik

Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, Australia

Cecile Pineda


Gordon Rogoff

theater director, professor Yale School of Drama

Several members of Veterans4Peace and Santa Fe, NM chapter

Institutions for identification purposes only

Some of the signers who were once political prisoners in Iran and/or are in exile

Former prisoners & years imprisoned in Iran

Anahita Rahmani
8 years (3 years awaiting execution, 10 months in solitary); her sentence was commuted to life in prison; she was released after 8 years
Mina Zarrin
9 years (4 years in solitary)
Mercedeh Ghaedi
3 years (9 months in solitary)
Arash Kia
Susan Golmohamadi
~ 3 years (8 months in solitary)
Ashraf Ghiyasi
3½ years
Monireh Haghighatjoo
3 years (1 year in solitary); pregnant when arrested
Nasser K.H.
8½ years; witnessed many IRI crimes including 1988 massacre
Mona Amiri
3 years (1 year in solitary)
Ebrahim Toghian
5 years (1 year in solitary); tortured “Strappado style”**
Shokat Mohamadi
3 years (4 months in the "Coffin”***)
Alireza Azin
7 years (1 year in solitary)
Mohamad Alabakhshi
7 years (1½ years in solitary)

Political Exiles

Karim Aghighi
Cyrus Mahan
political writer

Referenced Torture Techniques

* Solitary confinement – prisoner is confined alone in a cell. (Sometimes, due to shortage of jail cells, there may be more than one person in the small cell.)

** Strappado – prisoner is hung from the ceiling with her/his arms tied behind the back (sometimes called the Spread Eagle posture). 

*** Coffin, also called Resurrection, Cage, Grave, Box, or Hell – used exclusively in the women’s ward of Ghezel Hesarprison in Karaj. The prisoner was placed in a coffin-shaped box adjacent to other coffins separated by prefabricated walls, and guards were present 24 hours a day. Inside the coffin they could only sit or lie down; they were kept blindfolded at all times, even during meals. Guards forbade any talking. However, in the brief periods when guards would move around, the prisoners seized the opportunity to hold each other's hands through small spaces in the walls, encouraging each other and expressing solidarity.  

See further description of these and other “techniques” used on prisoners in Iran in Amnesty International’s report on Torture in Iran.

Pictured: "Strappado" - Video from Amnesty International